Trabzonspor wins first Turkish Premier League title since 1984

Trabzonspor won the Turkish league for the first time in 38 years – leading to wild celebrations.

Fans ran on to the pitch before the end of their 2-2 draw against Antalyaspor and then cleared out so the game could be finished.

They are nine points clear of Fenerbahce – with a better head-to-head record – with three games to go.

It is the Black Sea Storm’s seventh title – they won five in a row from 1975-76 and one more in 1983-84.

Trabzonspor are one of only six teams ever to win the Turkish title.

Besiktas earned the trophy last season after Istanbul Basaksehir’s historic first title win in 2019-20.

Burnley wins to boost survival hopes

Written by 

Herman Nnyanzi 'The Analyst' is a Ugandan multimedia sports journalist who started his career in 2017. He has a genuine strong love for sports and expertise, especially football. Contact me on +256704472629 or +256786403603

Related posts

Leave a Comment