Pope Appoints Lambert Bainomugisha As New Archbishop Of Mbarara

bishop Lambert Bainomugisha

Pope Francis has appointed bishop Lambert Bainomugisha As the New Archbishop Of Mbarara.

The Rt. Rev. Lambert Bainomugisha was born 12th July 1961 at Kashumba, Bukanga, Isingiro in what was at that time the Diocese of Mbarara. He studied both in Uganda and in Canada and obtained a degree in Canon Law through the University of St Paul of Ottowa. In addition, he was ordained a priest on 13 July 1991 at Mbarara Cathedral.

Fortebet Uganda

He exercised his pastoral ministry for several years in St Joseph the Worker Parish in Rubindi, Mbarara. He then returned to Canada in 1994 to complete his studies. After returning to the Diocese, he was the Chancellor of the Archdiocese from 2000 to 2005.

On 2 July 2005, he was appointed Auxiliary Bishop for the Archdiocese of Mbarara and Titular Bishop of Tacia Montana. Bishop Lambert Bainomugisha received episcopal consecration on 1 October the same year.

On 13 November 2009 Pope Benedict XVI appointed him Apostolic Administrator of the Diocese of Hoima. In addition, until a new Bishop of Hoima was ordained and appointed on 29 February 2016. Bishop Lambert then returned to the Archdiocese of Mbarara to continue his duties as Auxiliary Bishop.

COVID-19 CRISIS – President Museveni flags off donated vehicles

Bobi Wine stings Jinja RDC Eric Sakwa

Veronica Luggya alias Vinka donates 250kgs of rice to fight COVID-19

Xclusive! Mengo Hospital linked in COVID-19 dead body repatriation scandal with Aplus, distances self

Arcbishop-elect Lambert Bainomugisha is also the President of the Legal Service Commission and is a member of other commissions of the Uganda Episcopal Conference.

Background of Mbarara Archdiocese

bishop Lambert Bainomugisha

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese Cathedral of Mbarara (Our Lady of Perpetual Help Cathedral) in Uganda covers an area of 10,980 km² in southwestern Uganda. As of 2003, of the 2.2 million citizens in the area 856,168 are members of the Catholic Church. The archdiocese is subdivided into 25 parishes, and has 114 priests altogether. The archdiocese is the metropolitan for the dioceses of; Hoima, Fort Portal, Kasese, Kabale

The archdiocese dates back to the Vicariate Apostolic of Ruwenzori, which was erected on May 28, 1934 by splitting the Vicariate Apostolic of Uganda. On March 25, 1953 it was elevated to a diocese and renamed after its principal town Mbarara. 1961 territory was lost to the newly erected diocese of Fort Portal, and again in 1966 to the diocese of Kabale. On January 2, 1999 the diocese was elevated to an archdiocese. Before being an archdiocese the diocese was a suffragan diocese of the Archdiocese of Kampala.

Bishops since establishment

  • François-Xavier Lacoursière Missionaries of Africa (28 May 1934 – 20 April 1956)
  • Jean-Marie Gaëtan Ogez, Missionaries of Africa (11 December 1956 – 25 November 1968)
  • John Baptist Kakubi (26 June 1969 – 23 November 1991)
  • Archbishop Paul Kamuza Bakyenga ( 23 November 1991-25 April 2020), promoted as Archbishop in 2 January 1999, when Mbarara became metropolitan archdiocese. [1]
  • Archbishop Lambert Bainomugisha (25 April 2020- Present), formerly served as Auxillary Bishop of the Archdiocese since 2005.

Related posts

Leave a Comment